Aspen Aerogel ®

High-performance insulating blankets

Aspen Aerogels offers high performance aerogel insulation blankets for both hot and cold service applications. Our Pyrogel®and Cryogel® aerogel blanket insulation products have been widely used in industrial and building insulation markets for over a decade. Our unique patented process integrates aerogel into a fiber-batting reinforcement to create flexible, resilient and durable aerogel blankets with superior insulating properties.

The properties of the aerogels make them the solid with the lowest density and the most effective thermal insulator in the world.

Fork-link chains_Application_Products_KS_Kneissl_Senn_Technologie_GmbH
Fork link chain_KS_Kneissl_Senn_Technologie_GmbH_Produkte_Foerderketten
Fork link chain_KS_Kneissl_Senn_Technologie_GmbH_Produkte_Foerderketten

characteristics

The solids in silica aerogels are poor conductors and consist of very small, three-dimensional, intertwined clusters that make up only 3 % of the volume. The conductivity through the solid is therefore very low. The remaining 97 % of the volume of the aerogels consist of air in extremely small nanopores. The air has little room to move, which hinders both convection and gas phase conduction. These properties make aerogels the lowest density solid and the most effective thermal insulator in the world. After many decades as a laboratory curiosity, Aspen Airogels has successfully developed a technically and economically feasible form of airgel for industrial and building insulation applications.

benefits

  • Superior thermal performance
  • Reduced thickness and profile
  • Less time and labor for installation
  • Reusable - lower lifetime costs
  • Physically robust and impact resistant
  • Logistics savings - time and money
  • Simplified inventory
  • Hydrophobic yet breathable
  • Environmentally safe
Airgel Pyrogel Cryogel Products Refractory KS Kneissl Senn Technologie GmbH Properties 2
Airgel Pyrogel Cryogel Products Refractory KS Kneissl Senn Technologie GmbH Properties 3
AspenAerogel's LOGO GRACED

Manufacturer

Aspen Aerogels ® is the world's leading manufacturer of airgel blankets and has pioneered the development of this technology in the industrial marketplace since 2001. The Pyrogel® and Cryogel Z® insulation is now widely accepted and adopted as the benchmark standard for airgel technology. Aspen's airgel insulation is up to five times more effective than traditional insulation materials. The materials offer space-saving, easy-to-use solutions over a wide temperature range, making them the most efficient industrial insulation on the market.

Product types

product
   
thickness
(mm)
Thermal conductivityability
(mW / mK)
Max. Temp.
(° C)
application
   
Pyrogel® HPS
ASTM C1728
1022650Optimized for high temperature hydrocarbon & chemical processing, steam pipes, vessels and equipment, gas and steam turbines, removable blankets
Pyrogel® XTE
ASTM C1728
5
10
22650CUI defense, medium to high temperature processes, pipes, vessels and equipment, district energy steam networks, Aerospace and defense systems
Pyrogel® XTF1022650Passive pool fire and passive jet fire protection for industrial and commercial applications, relief system sizing (API 521)
Cyrogel® Z
ASTM C1728
5
10
17125Sub-ambient and cryogenic pipelines, vessels and equipment, gas liquefaction & re-gasification facilities
Cyrogel® x2015
10
17200Sub-ambient including refrigerated appliances, cold storage and aerospace
Airgel Pyrogel Cryogel Products Refractory KS Kneissl Senn Technologie GmbH Properties 1

About the material

The aerogel part of our high performance insulation blankets is comprised of synthetic amorphous silica (SAS). The other major ingredient in our products is a non-woven, needled batting comprised of either E-glass fibers or a blend of polyester (PET) fibers and E-glass fibers. Synthetic amorphous silica has been produced for more than 100 years for a variety of uses (adsorbents, fillers, anti-caking agents) and consumer products (toothpaste, cosmetics, food, animal feed).

The US EPA recently listed synthetic amorphous silica as a chemical on the Safer Chemical Ingredient List, part of the Safer Choice program. The Safer Chemical Ingredients List (SCIL) is a list of chemical ingredients that the Safer Choice Program has evaluated and determined to be safer than traditional chemical ingredients.

Material development

Aerogels have been in existence for more than 80 years. Invented in 1931 by Dr. Samuel Kistler at the College of the Pacific in California, silica aerogel is a lightweight solid derived from gel in which the liquid component of the gel has been replaced with gas. When the liquid is removed, what remains is “puffed-up sand," with up to 99% porosity. The result is an extremely low density solid with several remarkable properties, most notably its effectiveness as a thermal insulator. Aerogels also have value in emerging applications such as energy storage, filtration and carbon capture.

safety instructions

Synthetic amorphous silica is oleophilic, so it readily absorbs the oils from your skin. This characteristic is why synthetic amorphous silica is used in cosmetics as an anti-sheen agent. For worker comfort when working with Pyrogel®, Cryogel® or Spaceloft®aerogel blanket insulation, we recommend safety eyewear, work gloves, long sleeves, and long-legged work clothes. Respiratory protection is recommended if dust exposures exceed occupational exposure limits. Aerogel dust is easily washed from the skin and clothing using soap and water.

DOWNLOADS

$

Datasheet Pyrogel® HPS

Product properties, typical applications and availabilities.

$

Datasheet Pyrogel® XTE

Product properties, typical applications and availabilities.

$

Datasheet Pyrogel® XTF

Product properties, typical applications and availabilities.

$

Datasheet Cyrogel® Z

Product properties, typical applications and availabilities.

Further products

Aspen Aerogel ®

Hochleistungs-Isoliermatten

Hochleistungs-Aerogel-Isoliermatten sowohl für Heiß- als auch für Kaltanwendungen. Pyrogel ® und Cryogel ® werden seit über einem Jahrzehnt in der Industrie und in der Gebäudedämmung eingesetzt. Das einzigartige, patentierte Verfahren integriert Aerogel in eine Faser-Vlies-Verstärkung, um flexible, elastische und langlebige Aerogel-Decken mit überlegenen Isoliereigenschaften zu schaffen.

Die Eigenschaften der Aerogele machen sie zum Feststoff mit der geringsten Dichte und zum effektivsten thermischen Isolator der Welt.

Gabellaschenketten_Anwendung_Produkte_KS_Kneissl_Senn_Technologie_GmbH
Gabellaschenkette_KS_Kneissl_Senn_Technologie_GmbH_Produkte_Foerderketten
Gabellaschenkette_KS_Kneissl_Senn_Technologie_GmbH_Produkte_Foerderketten

Eigenschaften

Die Feststoffe in Silica-Aerogelen sind schlechte Leiter und bestehen aus sehr kleinen, dreidimensionalen, ineinander verschlungenen Clustern, die nur 3 % des Volumens ausmachen. Die Leitfähigkeit durch den Feststoff ist daher sehr gering. Die restlichen 97 % des Volumens der Aerogele bestehen aus Luft in extrem kleinen Nanoporen. Die Luft hat wenig Platz, sich zu bewegen, was sowohl die Konvektion als auch die Gasphasenleitung hemmt. Diese Eigenschaften machen Aerogele zum Feststoff mit der geringsten Dichte und zum effektivsten thermischen Isolator der Welt. Nach vielen Jahrzehnten als Laborkuriosität hat Aspen Aerogels erfolgreich eine technisch und wirtschaftlich machbare Form von Aerogel für industrielle und gebäudeisolierende Anwendungen entwickelt.

Vorteile

  • Überlegene thermische Leistung
  • Reduzierte Dicke und Profil
  • Geringerer Zeit- und Arbeitsaufwand für die Installation
  • Wiederverwendbar – geringere Lebensdauerkosten
  • Physikalisch robust und stoßfest
  • Einsparungen in der Logistik
  • Vereinfachte Lagerhaltung
  • Hydrophob und dennoch atmungsaktiv
  • Ökologisch sicher
Aerogels Pyrogel Cryogel Produkte Feuerfest KS Kneissl Senn Technologie GmbH Eigenschaften 2
Aerogels Pyrogel Cryogel Produkte Feuerfest KS Kneissl Senn Technologie GmbH Eigenschaften 3
AspenAerogels LOGO GRACED

Hersteller

Aspen Aerogels ® ist der weltweit führender Hersteller von Aerogel-Decken und leistet seit 2001 Pionierarbeit bei der Entwicklung dieser Technologie im industriellen Marktsektor. Die Pyrogel®- und Cryogel Z ®-Isolierung ist inzwischen weithin akzeptiert und als Benchmark-Standard in Sachen Aerogel-Technologie übernommen worden. Die Aerogel-Isolierung von Aspen ist bis zu fünfmal effektiver als herkömmliche Isoliermaterialien. Die Materialien bieten über einen breiten Temperaturbereich platzsparende, einfach zu handhabende Lösungen, was sie zu den effizientesten industriellen Isolierungen auf dem Markt macht.

Produkttypen

Produkt
   
Dicke
(mm)
Wärmeleitfähigkeit
(mW/m-K)
Max. Temp.
(°C)
Anwendung
   
Pyrogel® HPS
ASTM C1728
10 22 650 Optimiert für die Hochtemperaturverarbeitung von Kohlenwasserstoffen und Chemikalien, Dampfrohre, Behälter und Rohre, Gas- und Dampfturbinen, abnehmbare Matten
Pyrogel® XTE
ASTM C1728
5
10
22 650 CUI-Vermeidung, Mittel- bis Hochtemperaturprozesse, Rohre, Behälter, Fernwärme-Dampfnetze, Luft- und Raumfahrt und Verteidigungssysteme
Pyrogel® XTF 10 22 650 Passiver „pool fire“ und „jet fire“ Brandschutz für industrielle und gewerbliche Anwendungen, Entlastungssystemme/Bypassisolierungen (API-Standard 521)
Cyrogel® Z
ASTM C1728
5
10
17 125 Subambiente und kryogene Rohrleitungen, Behälter und Rohre, Gasverflüssigungs- und Wiederverdampfungsanlagen
Cyrogel® x201 5
10
17 200 Subambient einschließlich Kühlgeräte, Kühllager, Luft- und Raumfahrt
Aerogels Pyrogel Cryogel Produkte Feuerfest KS Kneissl Senn Technologie GmbH Eigenschaften 1

Über den Werkstoff

Der Aerogel-Anteil der Hochleistungs-Dämmmatten besteht aus synthetisch amorphem Siliziumdioxid (SAS). Der andere Hauptbestandteil dieser Produkte ist eine nicht gewebte, genadelte Matte, die entweder aus E-Glasfasern oder einer Mischung aus Polyester- (PET) und E-Glasfasern besteht. Synthetische amorphe Kieselsäure wird seit mehr als 100 Jahren für eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen (Adsorbentien, Füllstoffe, Antibackmittel) und Verbraucherprodukten (Zahnpasta, Kosmetika, Lebensmittel, Tierfutter) hergestellt.

Die US-Umweltbehörde EPA hat kürzlich synthetisch amorphes Siliziumdioxid als Chemikalie in die Safer Chemical Ingredient List (Liste sicherer chemischer Inhaltsstoffe) aufgenommen, die Teil des Safer Choice Programms ist. Die Safer Chemical Ingredients List (SCIL) ist eine Liste von chemischen Inhaltsstoffen, die vom Safer Choice Programm bewertet und als sicherer als herkömmliche chemische Inhaltsstoffe eingestuft wurden.

Werkstoff Entwicklung

Aerogele gibt es schon seit mehr als 80 Jahren, es wurde im Jahr 1931 von Dr. Samuel Kistler am College of the Pacific in Kalifornien entwickelt. Silica-Aerogel ist ein leichter Feststoff, der von Gel abgeleitet wird und bei dem die flüssige Komponente des Gels durch Gas ersetzt wird. Wenn die Flüssigkeit entfernt wird, bleibt „aufgeblasener Sand“ mit einer Porosität von bis zu 99 % übrig. Das Ergebnis ist ein Feststoff mit extrem niedriger Dichte und mehreren bemerkenswerten Eigenschaften, vor allem hinsichtlich seiner Wirksamkeit als Wärmeisolator. Aerogele haben da ja heute einen hohen Wert in neuen Anwendungen wie Energiespeicherung, Filtration und Kohlenstoffabscheidung.

Sicherheitshinweise

Synthetisch amorphe Kieselsäure ist oleophil, d.h. sie nimmt die Öle der Haut gerne auf. Diese Eigenschaft ist der Grund, warum synthetisch amorphe Kieselsäure in Kosmetika als Anti-Glanzmittel verwendet wird. Für den Arbeitskomfort bei der Arbeit mit der Pyrogel ®- oder Cryogel ®-Aerogel-Deckenisolierung empfehlen wir eine Schutzbrille, Arbeitshandschuhe, lange Ärmel und langbeinige Arbeitskleidung. Atemschutz wird empfohlen, wenn die Staubexposition die Arbeitsplatzgrenzwerte überschreitet. Aerogel-Staub lässt sich mit Wasser und Seife leicht von Haut und Kleidung abwaschen.

DOWNLOADS

$

Datenblatt Pyrogel® HPS

Produkteigenschaften, typische Anwendungen und Verfügbarkeiten.

$

Datenblatt Pyrogel® XTE

Produkteigenschaften, typische Anwendungen und Verfügbarkeiten.

$

Datenblatt Pyrogel® XTF

Produkteigenschaften, typische Anwendungen und Verfügbarkeiten.

$

Datenblatt Cyrogel® Z

Produkteigenschaften, typische Anwendungen und Verfügbarkeiten.

Weitere produkte